• New Mindset
  • Posts
  • 🧠 It's better to be a hot mess...

🧠 It's better to be a hot mess...

than a cold calculation

mindfulness for rule breakers, free spirits, & inner peace enthusiasts

You are too full of life to let anyone’s coldness make you second-guess your warmth.

Here are three mindsets to help you stay the course of your life.

My book “That’s Bold of You” is 40% off for a limited time on Amazon.

- Case Kenny (@case.kenny)

THREE mindsets to help you reflect, rebel, and reinvent…

1. You’re not falling behind (don’t settle)

Listen to today’s podcast where I talk about why the root of settling is found in the question, “am I making this choice because I truly want it, or because I'm afraid of falling behind?"

  • What is settling? (aka sleepwalking through life)

  • How to ask and answer this one question

  • What comes first? Love? Success? Lifestyle?

Listen here.

2. A life philosophy…

I'd rather be a hot mess than a cold calculation.

I'd rather be the person who smiles at strangers than the one who avoids eye contact. I'd rather be a minute late because I stopped to pet a dog than perfectly on time and miss out on life's little joys.

I'd rather share my embarrassing stories than pretend I've got it all together. I’d rather start the party myself and let everyone else catch up. I'd rather be caught in the rain than watching from the window.

I just want to be remembered for never hiding my true colors even if they didn’t match everyone else’s palette.

3. Not where you’re “supposed” to be in life?

Do you ever feel like you’re not where you're supposed to be in life?

Celebrate it. Your ability to be happy is not limited to what you achieve “on time.” Life isn’t about speed, it's about direction. Wouldn’t you say it’s better to wander in the RIGHT direction than sprint in the WRONG one? To change your mind rather than to just do what’s expected of you?

Your happiness doesn’t come from where society thinks you “should” be by now or where younger you thought you should be by now. It's about where you are, and the beauty you find there. So at any age it's okay to rewrite the script in search of that. To change directions. To reinvent. 

Life isn’t just about milestones, it’s about collecting memories. And right now if that’s what you’re doing, you're exactly where you’re supposed to be.

That’s it for today. Until Monday.

- Case Kenny

My name is Case. I believe in the power of perspective.

Say hi on Instagram @case.kenny

Listen to my twice-weekly podcast